Lower Eastern Shore

The Lower Eastern Shore Region drains approximately 2,200 square miles of land. This area includes portions of Wicomico and Caroline Counties, as well as Dorchester, Somerset, and Worcester Counties. The Lower Eastern Shore is considered a Coastal Plain province and includes several rivers such as the Nanticoke, Wicomico, and Pocomoke. These rivers flow into Tangier and Pocomoke Sounds, a unique area formed by a string of islands including Bloodsworth, South Marsh, and Smith Islands. The Lower Eastern Shore is largely covered in forested land, followed by agriculture. Major metropolitan areas include Salisbury, Princess Anne, Pocomoke City, Snow Hill, and Crisfield in Maryland, and Laurel and Seaford in Delaware. The 2000 census population for the watershed was 139,000 people in Maryland. There are nine major wastewater treatment plants in the Maryland portion of the watershed, and four in Delaware. (Based on MD DNR Tributary Strategy Report by Aadland et al., 2007 and updated 2000 land use classifications).