Lower Western Shore

The Lower Western Shore watershed drains approximately 300 square miles of land in Anne Arundel and Calvert Counties. The largest bodies of water in the watershed are the Magothy, Severn, South, Rhode, and West Rivers. Due to low elevation, surface waters often generally flow slowly through winding trails, and sometimes through wetlands before reaching the Bay. The Lower Western Shore is largely forested, with urban development the second largest land use. Major cities in the area include Annapolis, Severna Park, Arnold, and Chesapeake Beach. The census population for 2000 for the basin was 278,000 people. There are seven major wastewater treatment plants in the watershed. (Based on MD DNR Tributary Strategy Report by Karrh et al., 2007 and updated 2000 land use classifications).